Our award winning gallery charts the history of Stanton Ironworks, a key part of the industrial heritage of Erewash. The gallery describes the development of the Ironworks from the late 18th century through to its closure in the first decade of this century, as well as the lives of those that worked there. The history of Stanton Ironworks really is fascinating.
In 1788 a small blast furnace was constructed and operated for around 15 years between the villages of Stanton by Dale and Dale Abbey and this laid the foundations for what would eventually become Stanton Ironworks.
However it was not until 1846 when Benjamin Smith and his son Josiah built three blast furnaces that the origins of what became Stanton Ironworks can truly be traced.
Smith's business soon experienced financial difficulties and experienced a number of takeovers in the 1850s. Eventually the business was taken over by the Crompton Family who renamed it 'The Stanton Ironworks Company'.
Stanton Ironworks became one of the biggest individual employers in the area and assisted the government in the production of armaments in both World War One and World War Two. During the Second World War male workers were conscripted into the military. This meant that women made up a large proportion of the workforce.
In 1985 the business was acquired by the French Pony-a-Mouson Group, later to become Saint-Gobain Pipelines who still own it today although the last pipe to be cast was on May 24th 2007. Although production has stopped, the Ironworks remain an important part of many people's working lives, well within living memory. The gallery serves as a space to remember and learn more about this indelible element of the heritage of Erewash.